Planning Committee Agenda



To: Councillor Michael Neal (Chair)

Councillor Leila Ben-Hassel (Vice-Chair)

Councillors Ian Parker, Sean Fitzsimons, Clive Fraser, Mark Johnson, Humayun Kabir, Joseph Lee, Ellily Ponnuthurai and Holly Ramsey

Reserve Members: Jade Appleton, Louis Carserides, Sherwan Chowdhury, Chris Clark, Gayle Gander, Karen Jewitt, Endri Llabuti, Luke Shortland, Appu Srinivasan and Nikhil Sherine Thampi

A meeting of the **Planning Committee** which you are hereby summoned to attend, will be held on **Thursday**, **18 May 2023** at **6.00 pm** in **Council Chamber**, **Town Hall**, **Katharine Street**, **Croydon CR0 1NX**

KATHERINE KERSWELL Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service London Borough of Croydon Bernard Weatherill House 8 Mint Walk, Croydon CR0 1EA

Tariq Aniemeka-Bailey
020 8726 6000 x64109
tariq.aniemeka-bailey@croydon.gov.uk
www.croydon.gov.uk/meetings
Wednesday, 10 May 2023

Members of the public are welcome to attend this meeting, or you can view the webcast both live and after the meeting has completed at http://webcasting.croydon.gov.uk

If you would like to record the meeting, we ask that you read the guidance on the recording of public meetings <u>here</u> before attending

To register a request to speak, please either e-mail Democratic.Services@croydon.gov.uk or phone the number above by 4pm on the Tuesday before the meeting.



The agenda papers for all Council meetings are available on the Council website www.croydon.gov.uk/meetings

If you require any assistance, please contact Tariq Aniemeka-Bailey 020 8726 6000 x64109 as detailed above.

AGENDA - PART A

1. Apologies for absence

To receive any apologies for absence from any members of the Committee.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting (Pages 5 - 8)

To approve the minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 27 April 2023 as an accurate record.

3. Disclosure of Interest

Members are invited to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests (DPIs) and other registrable and non-registrable interests they may have in relation to any item(s) of business on today's agenda.

4. Urgent Business (if any)

To receive notice of any business not on the agenda which in the opinion of the Chair, by reason of special circumstances, be considered as a matter of urgency.

5. Development presentations (Pages 9 - 10)

To receive the following presentations on a proposed development:

5.1 22/01580/PRE - Royal Russell School, Coombe Lane, Croydon, CR9 5BX (Pages 11 - 50)

Demolition of the existing Junior School and replacement on the same site with a new Junior School, associated outdoor areas and landscaping.

Ward: South Croydon

6. Planning applications for decision (Pages 51 - 54)

To consider the accompanying reports by the Director of Planning & Strategic Transport:

6.1 22/04130/FUL - 34A, 34B And Rear Of 34 Arkwright Road, CR2 0LL (Pages 55 - 86)

Demolition of existing dwellinghouses at 34a and 34b Arkwright Road and the construction of 9 dwellinghouses 3-4 storeys in height together with associated parking, access and landscaping.

Ward: Sanderstead

Recommendation: Grant permission

7. Items referred by Planning Sub-Committee

To consider any item(s) referred by a previous meeting of the Planning Sub-Committee to this Committee for consideration and determination:

There are none.

8. Other planning matters (Pages 87 - 88)

To consider the accompanying report by the Director of Planning & Strategic Transport:

8.1 Weekly Planning Decisions (Pages 89 - 184)

Attached is the list of Delegated and Planning Committee/SubCommittee decisions taken between 18 April 2023 and 5 May 2023.

9. Exclusion of the Press & Public

The following motion is to be moved and seconded where it is proposed to exclude the press and public from the remainder of a meeting:

"That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within those paragraphs indicated in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended."